Gallery 54 - Ross on..
Contemporary abstract art, ceramics and glassware
Cleeve Orchard Cider..
Artisan maker of Little Owl cider from the last orchard in Ross on Wye
Places to visitSee this unique part of Britain's Heritage hidden beneath the Royal Forest of Dean.
Iron ore has been mined here for nearly 3000 years to form an incredible system of underground tunnels and chambers, of which 8 large caverns are now open to the public.
Originally a natural cave system, it partially filled with iron ore, which has been mined extensively since the beginning of the iron age. Geological and mining displays show how the primitive miners worked and the slow development of mining techniques up to the present day. The engine room contains several vintage engines, including the 1915 Ingersol Rand compressor used to drive the early pneumatic drills. The miners stores stocks not only souvenirs of your visit, but books and maps relating to mining, geology and local history. We have a good selection of minerals from the mine and other parts of the world, as well as caving equipment.
Caving trips and guided tours available throughout the year by appointment.
Contact InfoVisit Website | Email
Phone: 01594 832535
Royal Forest of Dean
Nearby ShopsColeford has several supermarkets, and many smaller family-owned shops catering for all needs.
St. John's, Church of England. St. John's Church was built in 1880, designed by S. Gambier-Parry, to replace the older original church in the market place (of which only the tower now remains).
The Baptists first began worship in the town in 1805, and the present church was built in 1858, and extended in 1889 to include school rooms.Deprecated: mysql_escape_string(): This function is deprecated; use mysql_real_escape_string() instead. in /var/www/vhosts/fweb.org.uk/httpdocs/classes_system/generaldata.class.inc on line 613