Cleeve Orchard Cider..
Artisan maker of Little Owl cider from the last orchard in Ross on Wye
Gallery 54 - Ross on..
Contemporary abstract art, ceramics and glassware
The George Hotel in the Forest of DeanThis old coaching and posting inn dates back to the mid seventeenth century. Situated in the ancient market town of Newent. Close to Shamples Museum, Bird of Prey Centre and the Forest of Dean. Full English breakfast and extensive bar & restaurant menu. En-suite available.
Contact InfoVisit Website | Email
Phone: 01531 820203
Nearby ChurchesSt. Mary's, in Newent, was a place of worship in Anglo-Saxon times. In the porch, there is an important cross shaft of Northumbrian provenance which probably dates to the 9th century, and was discovered in the churchyard in 1907. Inside the church there is another relic which is a unique stone tablet. This depicts the "harrowing of Hell" on one side and a bishop on the other. This tablet, which may date from the 11th century, bears a distinct resemblance to grave slabs found in Northumbria, though it is thought that it was used as a portable altar. For over 700 years, the building has been added to, rebuilt and restored and now attracts tourists and historians alike with its varied and unusual architecture and history. The church was built in the 13th century, partially rebuilt after the nave collapsed in the 17th century and in 1968 its octagonal spire was partially taken down after it too was found to be dangerous. The churchyard also attracts historians for its interesting tombs dating from the 17th century. The 150 foot high spire on its 14th century tower is a landmark for miles around marking one of the major historic buildings in the district. Deprecated: mysql_escape_string(): This function is deprecated; use mysql_real_escape_string() instead. in /var/www/vhosts/fweb.org.uk/httpdocs/classes_system/generaldata.class.inc on line 613